The Magicians

themagicians

Read: 04/03-04/23

There has been a lot of hype about this television show lately and obviously since it was based on a book I had read it first before I saw the show (this is a joke because if you read some of my others posts you will see that I have seen movies or television shows before reading the book).

The Magicians by Lev Grossman is about Quentin Coldwater who has always felt like he doesn’t belong. Through out school he has felt as if something was missing in his life. The only thing that makes him feel something is the book series “Fillory and Further”. Then one day he finds himself admitted into the mysterious Brakebills  College for Magical Pedagogy. Quentin then studies magic at this school for the next few years while making new friends along the way. Upon graduation it is revealed that there is a way to get into Fillory leading Quentin and his friends on a new adventure that might be more dangerous than they imagined.

This book took a really long time for me to get into it. I had been expecting to get hooked right away but it ended up taking me almost three weeks to read. Which is really long for me. It felt like a lot was happening the plot but that nothing was happening at the same time. I know…I know…that is probably an unhelpful way to describe it but that is the only way I can think of describing it. It wasn’t until after they had graduated from Brakebills that I finally felt like the plot was moving.

Once it got going it was great. It was filled with the magic and fantasy I had been expecting. The different realms they visited were each different and interesting in their own ways. The magic use went from learning in school to using it in real life. That was what I had wanted from the book. So I was happy when that started happening.

The same can be said for the characters. I didn’t really feel invested in them until about halfway through the books. This is always a problem for me because if I don’t care about the characters then I don’t care what happens to them. I think part of the problem was that the plot was moving so slowly but a large amount of time was passing that you didn’t get connected with the characters until the time slowed down.

By the end of the book I had enjoyed it and wanted to read the rest of the series. I am just not in any rush to read them.

Rating: 7/10

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Leave a Reply

