The Kind Worth Killing

thekindworthkilling

Read: 03/15-03/19

Another good place to get book recommendations is from book clubs. One of the book clubs I am sort of a member of (moving back and forth gets in the way of book clubs) is set up so that everyone just shares the book they are currently reading, instead of everyone reading the same book. Well one of the other members was reading this book and I knew it was one I wanted to read. So when I saw it on the shelf in a bookstore I grabbed it and started it right away.

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson is the story of how Ted Severson met a woman at the airport on his way home from London. During their flight Ted tells her all about how his wife, Miranda, is cheating on him with his contractor. The woman, Lily, offers him a solution to his problems. She will kill his wife. When they arrive back in Boston they go their separate ways until the night their plan will be put into action. However, Lily is hiding lots of skeletons in her closet that lead to a dangerous cat and mouse game.

I want to start this review by saying I loved Lily’s character. It was such an interesting perspective to take. Here is this young, beautiful woman that has no moral issues with murder. Her character was so intriguing and dark. We got to see her past and what lead her to be the way she is. Then we got to see how she handled the outcomes of the events in current time. I know she was supposed to be this bad person but I found myself rooting for her. I think it takes a very skilled author to make you root for the bad guy.

The plot had plenty of twists and turns throughout the book. Sometimes I think I have seen it all when it comes to twists in books but I was actually surprised multiple times throughout this book. It is refreshing to have a book keep my on my toes. I also really enjoyed the ending of the book. It was one of those endings that made me smile and think “Oooooh man.” I wanted to see what the outcome would be but I know what makes it so good is never knowing and leaving it up to the reader to decide.

Overall, this book was such a good read and I am glad I heard about it.

Rating: 10/10

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Leave a Reply

