Reign of Shadows

reignofshadows

Read: 02/25-02/28

Another day, another book recommended by a friend. I remember when she was reading this book. We were on a “staycation” and we were having a conversation about how annoying it is when two characters just won’t kiss. Then she proceeded to tell me about the book she was reading and how she was waiting for them to kiss. Once she finished the book it was one she recommended for me to read so onto my TBR list it went.

Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan is a take on the classic fairytale Rapunzel. It is told in alternating point-of-views of the two main characters: Luna and Fowler. Their world was plunged into darkness seventeen years ago and during that time Luna’s parents, the king and queen, were murdered. Luna, only a baby at the time, was rescued and hidden away in a tower where she spent the past seventeen years. She knew it was dangerous for her to leave the tower but she never stopped wanting to see more of the world. Then one day Fowler is brought into her life and the tower is attacked. Luna has no other options but to trust Fowler as they escape.

So I am going to start this review with a spoiler warning. This was not a surprise for me when I read the book (since my friend had told me lots about it) but I want to try and keep the surprise there for those who want it. So read this next paragraph at your own risk.

*

*

*

*

*

One thing I really like about this book is that Luna is blind. I am not sure how many of you are familiar with the original Rapunzel story but the prince is blinded by the evil witch the story. I appreciated the twist on this aspect of the story. Plus it was interesting to see how Sophie Jordan tackled the challenge of writing from the point of view of a blind character. I feel that most authors would not make one of their main characters blind because they wouldn’t want to keep up with that task for an entire book (or two since this is a duology). At times it did feel a little exaggerated. There were points I wondered if she could really be able to do all that stuff without seeing. But I appreciated the effort she was putting into her book and the challenge she was trying.

*

*

*

*

*

The romance story line of the book was a bit predictable. I could see how it was going to happen. But sometimes the predictable romance it okay. This author is busy creating her own world with monsters and magic. I don’t want that fact to be overshadowed by the romance plot and I don’t think it does. The setting was incredible. I loved all the different parts of this world and I look forward to reading more about them in the next book.

The one thing that bugged me about the book though was the ending. I could tell she was trying to leave it off with an exciting cliffhanger but it did not feel that way to me. It felt like she ended her book in the middle of the story. To me cliff hangers tend to have some loose ends tied up with a big surprise last minute. This book ended in the middle of a scene. It seemed as though she decided she wanted two books instead of one so she just cut the book in half instead of actually planning out the ending of the first book and how it will relate to the sequel.

Overall this book was a quick and easy read with a great magical world to explore along the way. I look forward to seeing how the author continues it in the sequel.

Rating: 8/10

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Leave a Reply

