The Raven King

theravenking

Read: 02/22-02/24

This is the final review of the Raven Cycle and it was an emotional journey. I read this entire series in about a week. It was definitely a roller coaster. However, I would recommend reading this entire series back-to-back. I truly think that is the best way to experience the entire series. It allows all the details from the very beginning to make sense towards the end.

The Raven King starts off after the conclusing of the third book. It is getting closer and closer to being a year since Blue first saw Gansey’s spirit. They are one step closer to locating Glendower but word has spread about the little town of Henrietta. Now there are people coming from around the world to try and get in on the magic that is there. Blue and the Raven Boys are running out of time.

This book was jam packed with plot twists. About halfway through the book so much had already happened and I wasn’t even close to being done. At some points it was hard to keep straight what was happening but there were a lot of questions that needed to be answered so I stuck with it. The climax of the book went by a little to quickly for me. That was really the only disappointing thing about the book. After having pretty much four books to build up to the climax of the entire series it was over in a couple pages. In fact it happened so fast I had to reread it a couple times to make sure I fully understood what had happened.

As for the new characters introduced in this book my favorite was by far Henry. I was a little suspicious at first about his character but he quickly won me over. So much so that I wish he had been in more of the books. He was a great adition to their little group. However, another part that kind of disappointed me but I understood it more was the romance between Blue and Gansey. It had been built up from the past three books and then the series was over. I understood why since the romance plot wasn’t a huge focus but I selfishly wanted more of them.

Overall, I loved this series so much. I am so glad that my friend suggested this to me (Shout out to you Mariah!) because my book life feels more complete now that I have read it. If you have not read this book yet please do yourself a favor and go out and buy them all right now. That is all.

Rating: 10/10

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Leave a Reply

