The Knife of Never Letting Go

theknifeofneverlettinggo

Read: 01/28-02/18

I love falling in love with a new author’s writing style. When that happens I will try to find out how many books they have so I can read them all. When I read A Monster Calls I instantly loved Patrick Ness’s writing. So when I saw this book on a display at the bookstore I knew I had to buy it.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness takes place on another planet and is told from the perspective of Todd. Todd lives in Prentisstown where he is one month away from the birthday that will make him a man. Todd is the last person in the town to become a man. There was a war on the planet that involved a disease that killed all women and a large chunk of the men. So now there are no women in Prentisstown. Another side effect of the war was what is known as “Noise.” Men can hear each other’s thoughts. So when Todd stumbles upon a secret he has no choice but to run from the only place he knows.

I was really excited when I started this book. The concept was so interesting. How does someone keep a secret when everyone can hear everyone’s thoughts? Unfortunately the book did not live up to my expectations. The book started out really strong. The plot was moving and it kept me on the edge of my seat. Then I reached about the halfway point and I hit a wall. I didn’t read the book at all for multiple days in a row. Eventually I reached the point where I just had to force myself to get through.

The book was very depressing in my opinion. Nothing good happened. Or just when something good was happening and you thought you were in the clear for a while the next page it all goes downhill again. Now I understand this is the first book in a triolgy so they couldn’t resolve everything all at once but the could have at least ended on a somewhat positive note. Instead it kept with the theme of the book and it ended on a depressing note. I spent the last half of the book simultaneously angry and sad.

I do think there are people who would love this book. Ness’s writing was excellent throughout the book. I really did love how the book was written. The way the “Noise” was depicted was done so well. I just didn’t like that it was a book all about hope but by the end of the book there was no hope. I don’t think I will be reading the last two books any time soon.

Rating: 6/10

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Leave a Reply

