My Life Next Door

mylifenextdoor

Read: 01/12-01/13

I had read a lot of heavy, serious books in a row and decided that I wanted to read something lighter and happier. I think everyone should read “fluffy” books. A good old fashioned romantic comedy is a great way to refresh your brain. So I grabbed a book that seemed to fit into this category. Expect I was in for a surprise when I ended reading it.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick is about a teenage girl named Samantha Reed who lives who’s mother is in the middle of a political campaign. So Samantha’s summer is now filled with political events and always holding the image of the perfect daughter. Her only escape is sitting on her small balcony at night and watching her neighbors The Garretts. They are everything that her family is not. Messy, wild, and full of love for each other. One night she is joined by Jase Garrett. As the summer goes on the two begin to fall in love until a moment comes that can cause both of their families to be torn apart. Samantha must learn to rely on herself to try and fix it.

I am just going to put this out there that I thought this book was going to be a light-hearted story about first love. This book definitely had all the awkward and sweet components of teenage love, especially when it is their first love but it also covered a topic that really made you think. Because of this there will be a spoiler later on in this review because I need to talk about it!

I am going to start with the fluffy parts of the book though. I think Fitzpatrick wrote about teenage love pretty accurately. Jase and Samantha had good chemistry and you really were rooting for them to pull through to a happily ever after. The topic of sex does come up in this book and I think it was handled perfectly. In a previous review I mentioned how important I think it is to discuss sex in young adult books. That could be the way teenagers are getting some information on it if they are too nervous to go to their parents. The way it was done is this book was done really well. The story did not revolve entirely around that topic and it wasn’t what they thought about from the beginning unlike some other books I have read (see: The Infinite Moment of Us).

One thing I did not like about the book was the writing style and format of the book. There would be a lot of moments in the book where it jumped ahead and I wasn’t quite sure on the timeline of the book. I don’t like when I am not sure how long it has been between different events of the book or how long has passed since the beginning of the book.

Okay people time for a spoiler! Scroll past this part.

*

*

*

From the very beginning I thought this book was going to involve a teenage pregnancy. Turns out I was wrong. Instead, Samantha’s mom (who is currently running for a political office) hit a pedestrian while driving one night and she had had a few glasses on wine. It is then revealed that the pedestrian she hit is Jase’s father. Samantha is now left with the choice of whether or not to tell the truth. Her mother and the campaign manager are telling her to keep her mouth shut but Samantha’s relationship with Jase is not the only thing on the line but also Jase’s family’s financial stability. I really appreciated this twist because it made me think. I think most people would say they would do the right thing and tell the truth but if you really think about it that would involve ruining your mother’s career and her possibly getting sent to jail. Could you really do that to your mother? It ended up making a book that started out really light-hearted more thought provoking and I enjoyed it a lot. I won’t tell you what happens after that.

*

*

*

Overall, this book ended up making more of an impact that I expected to. It was both a sweet romantic story but also a book that makes you think.

Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

