Since You’ve Been Gone

sinceyou'vebeengone

Read: 1/09-1/10

This was another book that had been sitting on myself for a while and taunting me. I had purchased this book with a few others that were similar so unfortunately this one had gotten set aside. However, in the middle of winter I had decided I was in the mood for a good old fashioned summer romance story and this seemed like the best choice.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson is about a teenage girl named Emily who has a best friend named Sloane that suddenly disappears one day. Emily and Sloane had done everything together and had even planned out their best summer yet but now that Sloane has disappeared and is not answering her cell phone Emily doesn’t know what to do. Then one day a letter shows up for Emily. It is a list of thirteen tasks written in Sloane’s hand writing. So Emily sets out to complete these tasks hoping they would lead her to back to Sloane. Along the way she gets help from surprising people, including the school’s golden boy Frank Porter.

I loved the concept of this book. Especially when I read the list of the thirteen tasks that Emily would have to do. I really like reading books about road trips or bucket lists so I was excited for this book and I was not disappointed. The tasks were not extreme but they still managed to be exciting because of the characters in them. Matson wrote some really excellent characters. I loved watching all of their different dynamics. Everyone had some depth and emotion to them.

I loved the slow building and realistic love story in the book. I liked that it wasn’t a love at first sight story. Even though those can be fun to read sometimes I really enjoy when the romance between two characters is realistic. It was a little predictable of a story but it was okay because it didn’t try to be something different than what it was. It wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows but it was a super serious book. It had just the right balance between humor, romance, and seriousness. I really enjoyed reading this book.

Rating: 9/10

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

