The Retribution of Mara Dyer

theretributionofmaradyer

Read: 1/04-1/06

The conclusion to the Mara Dyer Trilogy is here! I wish that after I read the first book in the series I was able to read the rest of the books. However, that only seems to work once I have read the sequel to the book. Like the reviews of other sequels I will do my best to not give away any spoilers.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin is the conclusion to Mara’s story. It picks up almost immediately after the ending of the second book. The truth behind Mara’s gift has been revealed and she has found out that she is not alone. Together they try to unravel the mystery behind what had been happening to them and put an end to it.

Once again the dialogue and characters in this book were fantastic. They did not falter at all from the first two books. We got to see more from some of the minor characters this time around and it was great. I don’t want to say which characters because I don’t want to give anything away. The characters that get bigger parts this time around deserve every second they do. They both play important parts for Mara’s character development. Plus it leads to some great scenes of dialogue.

As for Mara’s character development this is one of the few times that I have seen a character go through a drastic change but it work. Mara’s character is completely different from the first book but it makes sense. She has been through a lot of things and her changes fit with how a normal person would react.

This was a great conclusion to the series. Practically all of my questions were answered. And I say practically because the ending was left open but those questions left unanswered were not the ones that would be nagging at me for the rest of time. Instead they were the kind of questions that would allow each reader to build their own conclusions as to what happened. I really enjoy those endings because then I can imagine the happily ever after that maybe wasn’t what another reader imagined.

Overall, this series was an amazing series. It takes a very dark and twisted topic and throws humor in there. It was a fast paced read that kept you questioning your own sanity while reading it.

Rating: 9/10

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

