Shatter Me

IMG_20170425_124931_173

Read: 12/25-12/26

This was a book that I had seen on the shelves and at different festivals for a while but never really looked into. Then my friend read it and told me how much she enjoyed it so I decided to see what it was about. The premise definitely caught my attention so I added it to my Christmas list. Unfortunately then I had to wait until Christmas to see if I got it or not. Luckily I did and I wasted no time in getting started on it.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi is about a young girl named Juliette who has not touched another human in 264 days. Before that she did her best not to touch another human. When she does she drains their energy and they will either die or get extremely sick. The last time she touched someone resulted in her getting locked up for murder by The Reestablishment. They thought that keeping her isolated was the best way to deal with her but they changed their minds and now want to use her as a weapon. But Juliette is just starting to realize that she might not be the monster she always thought she was and now she has a decision to make.

I just want to start off by saying the Rogue in the X-Men series has always been one of my favorites so I already liked Juliette because she was similar to Rogue in their abilities. Juliette had been locked up in isolation with no human contact at all for 264 days when she suddenly got a cellmate. I think Mafi did a great job at showing the effects of not talking or seeing another human for that long of a period. The book was from first person and it was written like it was Juliette’s diary almost. There would be periods of just rambling thoughts and repetitive sentences but it worked because it made you wonder about Juliette’s mental stability. This idea stayed consistent through the whole book. Even as her character got more confident there was still that question about her mental stability after being left alone for so long. It didn’t just disappear right away which was really good for her character development. This book is a series so it left more room for her character to grow throughout the rest of the books.

The author used a lot of metaphors in her writing. For some parts of the book it would be almost too much. I would be reading a scene and every other sentence would be a metaphor. It made it hard to follow what was happening sometimes. However, there would be times were I would pause and think to myself “Yeah, that was a great metaphor.” So I think the writing style of the book will really be up to the reader. My friend loved all the metaphors, but I read some reviews were people hated the book because of the metaphors. For me, I flip-flopped between whether I appreciated them or not.

The plot was quick moving pretty much from the start. It was definitely a hard book to put down both because the plot kept moving and also because I wanted answers to my questions. It starts off right away with lots of unanswered questions. Especially about the world they lived in. So you want to keep reading in order to find out more information. The reveal at the ending was a little cheesy but it still kept me intrigued for the rest of the series.

I didn’t really like the relationship between the characters that much. I think it was because of how fast the plot was moving that their relationships felt too fake. I couldn’t invest in them yet because I wasn’t given the time to want them together. I am hoping that by the end of the series I can enjoy their relationship better.

Overall, this was a fun and fast-paced read. I would recommend this to fans of Divergent and the Red Queen.

Rating: 8/10

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

 

Leave a Reply

