The Creeping

thecreeping

Read: 10/26-10/27

My friend and I had looked at this book a while ago but both put it back on the shelf. So when I decided I was in the mood for something creepy to read what’s better than a book with the word “creep” in the title? I decided to take a chance on this book and I am glad I did.

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy is about Stella Cambren who survived something she cannot remember. When she was only 6 years old her and her friend Jeanie disappeared into the forest. Only Stella came back and Jeanie was never found. Stella has never been able to remember what happened. Now 11 years later, Stella is ready to enjoy the best summer of life. Unfortunately she begins to have flashes of memories from that day and suddenly a body appears that resembles Jeanie opening up the 11 year old mystery.

I didn’t have a lot of expectations for this book which is probably why I enjoyed it so much. I really enjoyed the writing style of the book. The author does a great job of describing not only the setting but also the characters. I could easily picture both where the characters were and what the characters were doing. It wasn’t written in a boring way either. It flowed nicely with the plot. It didn’t feel like she was just adding in a paragraph of descriptions. I also enjoyed how in depth she went into the storyline without making it feel like you were being overloaded with information. Sometimes when authors are filling in the backstory it can feel heavy but this fit in well with the story.

Once the big revealed happened I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. To me it felt almost anticlimactic for what was building. In fact it had been one of my guesses throughout the book as I was reading. However, once I read the last chapter I decided I was happy with the ending. The very last chapter won me over.

Overall, I really liked this book. It would be perfect for either a Halloween read or a summer read.

Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

