The Dead House

thedeadhouse

Read: 10/16-10/17

I picked up this book because I was in the mood for some creepy books during October. I had seen an advertisement for one of Dawn Kurtagich’s books which really caught my eye. So I looked up more of her books and saw this one. It seemed like the perfect book for the Halloween vibe.

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich is a collection of diary entries, transcribed audio, and transcribed video footage that describes the events leading up to a fire at a boarding school. It focuses on a student named Carly Johnson who has a personality disorder that causes her to change into her “sister” Kaitlyn at night. The diary entries are from Kaitlyn’s diary. Most the audio footage is from her sessions at hospital where she saw a psychiatrist. All of these together tell the story of what really caused the fire at the school.

I loved this book! It was so much more than what I had expected. The second I picked it up I had to force myself to put it down so that I could go to sleep. I was looking for something creepy to read since Halloween was coming up and this book was the perfect choice. I was reading it at night and it definitely creeped me out, even though I wasn’t alone. This is definitely not a book you want to read by yourself. One thing that made this book so wonderful was the style it was written in. The combination of “found footage”, the diary entries, and even the psychiatrist‘s notes was just perfect. It was like I was reading a police file on the event or watching a TV documentary. That is how realistically it was presented. I think if the book had been just the diary entries or written like a normal novel it would not have been as creepy as it was it. The writing style definitely added the mood.

The other thing that I loved about this book was that it messes with your mind. Throughout the whole book I was certain that it was supernatural but then after I finished the book and thought about it I was second guessing myself. I am still second guessing myself and I finished this book a while ago. It was handled so well that it is left up to each individual on what they think that truth was. Even after every single fact that is known was presented it is left up to the reader. Those are the kinds of books I love.

If you are looking for a creepy and paranormalesque book than this is the book for you! I would definitely recommend it!

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

