The Rose and the Dagger

theroseandthedagger

Read: 09/29-10/17

I read the first book a couple months ago which was during my phase of life where I could not read past the first book in a series. This book series only had two books though so once I broke that pattern I decided it would be a good book to read. This book was written by one of the authors that attended YALLWEST. For those that haven’t read that blog post, YALLWEST was insane and I did not get to meet all the authors that I wanted to. Luckily though, this was one of the authors I met! She was really nice which definitely lead to me enjoying her book more. Since this book is a sequel I will do my best to not give away any spoilers and if I just can’t avoid it I promise to get lots of warning.

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh is the sequel and conclusion to The Wrath and The Dawn. It picks up a couple of days after the events at the end of The Wrath and the Dawn.  Shazi has decided the try and break the curse that holds both her home and her love captive. However, she must work in a timely fashion because there is a war brewing that threatens everyone.

That summary was super vague and not that good but I would have super spoiled the first book if I gave too much away. So, I was not hooked by this book as much as I was the sequel. I absolutely loved the sequel. The setting and the characters and the storyline were all so amazing but this time unfortunately it did not catch my attention as much as I would have liked. One reason is that I felt like she was trying to include so much and wrap up so many storylines in such a short amount of time. Because of this it felt a little too rushed and when new characters were introduced they just bordered on being fully developed. That being said though the last quarter of the book hooked me. The ending was really good and I was happy with how it ended. Sometimes the worst thing an author can do is end a series poorly but she did not do that. She ended it really well and in a way that I think will satisfy readers.

She still managed to create a wonderful setting. That is one aspect that still rang true for this book and the first book. Renee Ahdieh knows how to paint a picture. That is probably my favorite part about her writing is how she describes a scene. I could clearly picture it in my mind and that helped move the story along. Plus, it was so beautifully done that you didn’t feel like you were just reading descriptions. They blended with the story.

Overall this book was a fun read and good conclusion to the story. I would definitely recommend these books to anyone who loves fantasy reads!

Rating: 8/10

Instagram: @fromjensbookshelf

Facebook: From Jen’s Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

