An Ember in the Ashes

anemberintheashes

Read: 09/26-09/27

I had heard so many good things about this book. It was all over my instagram and in all my emails that I get. Especially once the sequel was coming out. I had gone through a phase where I was really reading fantasy books so I never looked too much into it. Well once I got back on the fantasy kick I decided to look into it more and realized I was extremely interested in. So I bought it and it sat on my shelf for a little bit but was definitely higher on my list of to be read books.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir follows two characters, Elias and Laia, as they both fight to survive in their world. Elias has just graduated top of his class at an elite military training academy. Laia has just watched her brother be taken captive by that military. Laia goes to the rebel group that fights against the Emperor, and asks them for help rescuing her brother. In turn she must pose a slave in the Commandant’s house to spy on the military academy. While she is there Elias is entered to compete in a fight to become the next Emporer. As their paths cross they realize that they may have more in common than they think.

This is another type of dystopian society novel. At least that’s how it starts out. Then boom you are thrown something you didn’t quite expect. That is how the majority of the book goes though. It was difficult for me to find a good place to put the book down. It was non-stop action and I loved it. I finished this book in under 24 hours because of it. Also just when you think you are getting the standard love story boom you are thrown a love square. I wasn’t quite sure which couple I was rooting for. I am sure the fandom here has long arguments over who belongs with who. This little love square helped keep me hooked because I didn’t know what I wanted to happen. I can say that the ending was definitely not it though. These author know how to get ya!

I really enjoyed both characters. I think they both held a lot of depth that most characters are given. It can be difficult to create a plot as intricate and action packed as this book while still giving the characters a good development. It was not as deep as I would have liked but since this is the first book in a series I know there is more to come as far as character development goes.

Overall this book was so amazing. I really enjoyed reading and I would definitely recommend this book to people looking for an action packed book that they can’t put down.

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

