Bossypants

bossypants

So this is another book that I should give full disclosure on: I am probably..most likely…definitely…biased about this book. I love Tina Fey. She is one of my favorite actresses out there. She is absolutely hilarious and I really wish I had been born sooner so that she could portray me in the movie about my life. That being said I may be leaning a tad bit towards favoring this book because of this. However, I believe that does not mean that you should not take the review seriously.

Bossypants by Tina Fey is about her life up until the book was published in 2011. She discusses her life growing up, her experiences in college, and the start of her career. All leading to where she was in 2011 (clearly she is still doing awesome).

I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was hilarious and completely true to her personality. The jokes through out the book fit with what you see when she hosts an awards show and when she is on Saturday Night Live. It felt like Tina Fey was reading this book to me. I really wish I had purchased the audiobook for it because she reads it and I think that would make it even better. I might still go out and purchase the audiobook.

I had been reading a bunch of serious and sad books in a row so I had decided I needed something humorous next. This book was the perfect choice for that. Seriously if you are looking for a funny book this is a great choice. I was laughing out loud when I would read it. I had gone to the beach with some friends and was reading the book there. Every now and then I would chuckle to myself. You can’t help yourself when reading this book. Even though it is 5 years old now there are some things in the book that relate today and I wonder if she looks back on her book and realizes how relevant her comment was to current times.

One other thing I really enjoyed about this book was that she focused on some serious topics and made really good points about them without ever forcing them down your throat. I think the humor behind it contributed to that. She discussed body images and being a female in a male dominated workplace but it never felt like she was lecturing you. Instead she talked about her own experiences that had the themes in them. They were funny stories but you could still see where the issues were in the industry.

Overall this book was amazing. I highly highly recommend that you read this. Especially young women. I think Tina Fey really gives you some motivation for taking on the challenges in your life that you may face.

Rating: 10/10

One Comment Add yours

  1. I really enjoyed ‘Bossypants’ too – its the book that got me hooked on comedic memoirs. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

