Cress

Read: September 14 to September 16

So after I had finished Scarlet in one day naturally I needed to read the third book. Luckily it had been sitting on my shelf waiting for me to read it. As I had mentioned in my previous post I had put off reading series for a while even if I had the entire series. Hoarding the books did come in handy when it came down to binge reading the series. Like the last review I will do my best not to give away any spoilers (without fair warning at least) so if the review is weird or vague I apologize but I want everyone to experience the series free of spoilers.

Cress by Marissa Meyer is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles series. In this book Cinder, Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf have all met each other and formulated a new plan as the battle for the safety of Earth and it’s inhabitants has increased. Their new plan involves rescuing Queen Levana’s best hacker, Cress, from the satellite she has been confined to for most of her life. However, the rescue mission goes wrong and the team is separated without a way to communicate to each other.

This book has the speedy pace and action that the second book was lacking in. While the second book had felt more like a way to introduce new characters Cress was definitely the book that moved the plot along. There were a lot new plot developments that had expanded off of the previous two books. Once again we got to see more of the universe that Meyer had created. This time we got a view into Africa. And let me tell you, it was definitely an interesting view.

Since most of the characters had already been introduced there was really only one character that got introduced and that was Cress. Her character was instantly likable in the way that you want to protect her from the evil of the world. She was also super relateable when it came to her crush on Thorne. What girl has not had a crush on someone they never thought they’d meet? Suddenly she was face-to-face with this guy and she was adorably awkward. It was so realistic.

This book lead up to a climatic finale and basically a cliff hanger. I would say that it was a fairly cliff hanger ending. There were some satisfying moments in the end but you still knew there was so much more to come that it was hard to get your hopes up.

Rating: 10/10

 

Leave a Reply

