The Perks of Being a Wallflower

perksofbeingawallflower

This is one of those classic books that practically everyone has read and loved. I was one of the few that had not read it. So I picked it up one day when I had coupon or there was a sale going on. Then it sat on my shelf for a while. Like at least over a year. Well I finally picked it up. I figured it is a short book and would be a good one to just knock off my TBR shelf. All I can say is why I did I wait so long to read this book?

I am sure this summary is unnecessary because like I said, pretty much everyone has read this book. But for those who are like me and were in the small selection of people that had put off reading this book or are still putting off reading this book I will give the description. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky is a story of a boy named Charlie in his first year of high school. Through letters written to his friend he takes readers through the journey that is freshman year of high school. New friends, new challenges, new love, and everything else that comes with starting high school for the first time.

I really enjoyed this book. It did not leave the same emotions in me of some other books that I enjoyed and loved but still it left me feeling something and thinking about it. It was definitely the kind of book that leaves you thinking after you finish it. It leaves you thinking as you are reading. I would be thinking about events that had just happened in the book while new events were happening. I found myself re-reading certain passages just to make sure I was processing everything thoroughly.

I really enjoyed Charlie’s character. He was so sweet and innocent but in the best way. He was not the type of innocent that comes across as stupid. He was the type of innocent that had always lived on the sidelines (aka wallflower) and was finally starting to experience life. It was sort of inspiring to see how bravely he took on new challenges of high school. I think we can all remember what is was like during freshman year of high school. There were so many changes in our lives. I can definitely say I lost friends but also gained new ones too. To watch Charlie go through that definitely brought back some sentimental thoughts. I think Chbosky nailed the first year of high school.

Like I said I really enjoyed this book. It left me feeling so many different emotions at the end that it took a couple days to get them straight. I would highly recommend this book. If it is sitting on your TBR shelf right now take it down and read it. It will be worth it. I promise.

Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

