Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

harrypotterandthecursedchild

I think we all knew this review was coming. Do I really need to explain how I got into this book? I grew up with both the Harry Potter books and the movie series. So obviously when I found there was a play I began trying to figure out how to get to myself to London to see the show. Then the wonderful news was released: they would be publishing the script and it would be available for purchase. Cue excited squeal. So obviously I went to the midnight release party (my very first one) and got my copy of the book then proceeded to read the book. Of course I made myself drag it out as long as possible so I could enjoy being back in the magical world of Harry Potter.

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child is a play written by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne that takes readers back to Hogwarts. This time however the story follows Harry’s son Albus Severus Potter as he attends Hogwarts for the first time. Albus quickly befriends Scorpius Malfoy, Draco’s son. Together the two boys face their own challenges and adventures as they deal with living in the shadows of their fathers. Meanwhile, Harry, Ron, and Hermione face their own challenges as Harry’s scar is hurting for the first time in 22 years.

I really enjoyed being taken back into this world. I didn’t realize how much I missed these characters until I started reading again. It felt both familiar and different to read about these characters again. They were no longer the children that I had read about and instead were full-grown adults with their own children. It was really strange because Harry would act a certain way towards Albus and I would find myself rolling my eyes and thinking “God Harry you are being such a dad right now.” So much had changed in these characters but they still held onto all their good traits.

My favorite character though was one that I never thought I would like: Scorpius Malfoy. I never thought that a Malfoy would be my favorite character in the Harry Potter universe but Scorpius was so nerdy and adorable. He was nothing like Draco Malfoy and I found myself questioning whether he was really Draco’s kid. He seemed more like he would have been the child of Hermione and Ron.

The story line of the play was nothing spectacular. It moved very fast but I figure that is due to it being a play. It was catchy enough to keep me intrigued and wanting to continue reading it. I found myself wanting more at the end though. Not necessarily wanting more in the story but just wanting a book instead of a play. I wanted the characters to be more developed and I wanted more description. Unfortunately since it was a play that could not be done. That being said I had no issues reading it as a play format. I just wished it was a book so I could have more to hold onto.

Overall, I think the three of them did a fantastic job bringing the fans back into the world of Hogwarts and Harry Potter. I was not let down!

Rating: 9/10

2 Comments Add yours

  1. A.M.B. says:

    One of my eight-year-old twins stayed up late to finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows last night, and she started on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child this morning. I’ll read it after she’s done. It’s been so wonderful to share this series with my kids (who found it very frightening but too compelling to put down).

    Like

    1. That is such a great experience to be able to share with them!! Thanks for sharing it here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

