The Problem with Forever

theproblemwithforever

This book was one of those books that I had seen advertised a lot of places and I was really intrigued by it but it wasn’t at the top of my list so I just ignored it for a while. Then my sister came home with an ARC of it and made my day. So even though the book has been published for a while no one picked up an ARC at her work so she brought it home to share.

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer Armentrout is about a teenage girl named Mallory Dodge who grew up in foster care. When she was young she did not live in a very good house. The foster mom was always passed out and the dad was quick to anger. But there was a boy at the house too and he would always project Mallory and take the beatings for her. Then one day something happened and both kids were taken away from the house and split up. Mallory got adopted by two doctors, Carl and Rosa, who helped her recover from her past. Four years later and Mallory is deciding to go to high school for the first time. Because of the environment she was raised in she was terrified to talk to people and be around strangers for fear of punishment. So she had been home schooled for the past four years. But now she wants to go to college and decided to start with high school to adjust herself. On her first day at the school though she runs into someone she never thought she’d seen again: Rider Stark, the boy who saved her multiple times in their foster home.

Okay so I am going to start with the things I didn’t really like about this book because there was one thing I loved about this book and I want to go on a happy rant about that but I will save it for later. The plot line of this story was a little predictable. It did have a happier ending then I was prepared for. I had prepped myself for a sad ending but it didn’t have a sad ending which was a pleasant surprise. However the plot was not that remarkable. A lot of the big scenes I could see coming a mile away. The writing was nothing spectacular either. So these together you would think that book wouldn’t be that good but there was one thing that made this book amazing and that was: Mallory’s character development.

So as we all know I am a stickler on character development and oh my gosh could this author develop a character. There were times I would just stop reading and bask in the amazing character development. Mallory’s character starts out very shy and quiet and relies on other people to protect her. The instant she sees Rider again they fall into the same pattern of her running and hiding and him protecting her. At the beginning I did not like it. I didn’t think their relationship was very healthy but as the book continued on my opinion changed. Mallory slowly started to become more confident in herself but it was a perfect change. She didn’t just suddenly become this confident girl. She would start to break out of her shell and the revert back to her old self. She would make mistakes and then realize it. However, she admitted when she was at fault. She admitted that she was stuck in the past and wanted to change. Even at the end of the book she wasn’t this perfect and new Mallory. She was still progressing towards becoming a more confident person.

The way she developed was so wonderfully done. I just want to hug Jennifer Armentrout and thank her for this character because it was so realistic. Mallory also didn’t just get over her past right away. A lot of times author’s will have character’s face traumatic events and then never think about it again but even 4 years later Mallory was still trying to recover from her past. I can’t repeat enough how realistic Mallory’s character was. Favorite thing about this book.

If you want a beautifully done character read this book!

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

