The Memory Book

thememorybook

I will be honest I judged the book by the titled. I thought that this was going to be a memoir and would be boring but it kept showing up on my newsfeed so I decided to look more into it and boy was a I wrong. Even us seasoned readers can make the mistake of judging a book before you get to know it better. Also it should probably be known that I am a book masochist. I love books that will just rip out my heart and tear it to pieces (see: Me Before You). That being said. This is a sad but amazing book.

The Memory Book by Laura Avery is the story of a high school senior named Sammie. She is a brilliant student in line to be valedictorian of her graduating class and is going to lead the team to be National debate champions. Then she gets diagnosed with a disease that will cause her to lose her memory. The doctor’s don’t know when exactly it will start to happen and how fast it will go. So Sammie decides to start writing her own “Memory Book” where she will recorded everything that is happening so that if she starts to forget she can just read the book and remember.

I absolutely loved this book and I think anyone who reads it will have a hard time not falling in love with this book. The first thing I loved about this book was the writing style. It was written as Sammie writing to “Future Sam” so she kept addressing “Future Sam” through out the book. It was basically second person which is not an easy task and I really think this author pulled it off. And in such a unique way. The writing style of the book is really what made it. It was like reading Sammie’s journal so you got this personal connection to the character right off the bat.

I really enjoyed Sammie’s character. I think she had a realistic reaction to getting the disease. You know she dealt with not wanting to accept her fate to having to accept her fate and make the most of it. Her character was so…raw I guess is how I would describe it. Reading about how she dealt with the first couple times will break your heart. But don’t let that deter you from reading this book.

There was such a great development of all the relationships that Sammie has in this book. From friends to family to boys you get to see her realize how important people are to her. Anyone who has siblings will appreciate the parts about her siblings in this book because it feels like exactly how siblings who respond. She has neighbor, who is also an old friend, name Cooper and they repeatedly have conversations through her memory book and that is one of my favorite parts of the book. I don’t want to give away too much about this book so sorry for the vague descriptions.

This is a tissue warning for this book because I cried at the ending and I was in public. But it was such an amazing book that I want everyone to read it!

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

