A Monster Calls

amonstercalls

This was another book that came on my radar because it was going to be a movie. I doubt I would have looked twice at this book had it not gotten so much book publicity for the movie. Not that the title or the cover weren’t intriguing to catch my eye. It was the shape of the book that threw me off. This is a 200 page book but it does not look like your normal 200 page book. That is because it is a short story complete with wonderful illustrations. This was definitely a case of don’t judge a book by it’s cover (definitely guilty of this) because this book was so wonderful.

A Monster Calls is a short story written by Patrick Ness from an idea by Siobhan Dowd and it had beautiful illustrations by Jim Kay. The story follows a young boy name Conor who has been having the same nightmare almost every night filled with a horrible monster. One night at exactly 12:07 a monster shows up outside his house. Only this is not the monster from his nightmares. It is a different monster that wants to tell Conor three different tales from his life and then that the end of those three tales Conor is supposed to tell his own tale. Including the truth Conor has been hiding from.

I know that description sounds vague but I really did not want to give away too much of the story line since it is such a short book. Ness really knows how to tug on your heart strings with his writing. I have never read any of his books before but now I really want to because his writing was so beautiful. It was probably my favorite part of the story. This actual plot was not that captivating but they way Ness wrote drew me into the story.

He also had some help from Jim Kay with the beautiful illustrations. They were only done in shades of black and white but they were so wonderful. This story would honestly not be the same if it did not include the drawings. If you are going to read this book make sure you look over all the drawings, even the little ones, because I really think it will help you feel the emotions they are trying to get across. I am also happy to say that when I watched the trailer the monster looks pretty similar to the drawing Kay had done for the book. I would have been disappointed if they had ignored his illustrations when making the movie but it looks like these drawings will be put on the big screen.

As I said earlier the story line itself was not that captivating. It was sort of a basic story line. Going into the book I did not know what to expect, except that the friend I borrowed the book from did not enjoy it that much but her friend to recommended it loved the book. So I had a feeling that I would either hate this book or love it. I am not quite sure if I love the book but I did really really enjoy it.

This is definitely a book I would recommend to read. It is a quick read. Even though it is 200 pages it is still a short story so the pages are filled with the illustrations and the words do not take over the page. I think reading this book is more of an experience than just simply reading a book.

Rating: 8/10

One Comment Add yours

  1. ciaomariah says:

    I think you’re so right when you say this book is about the experience. It made me feel so much with such few words and that’s exactly the situation Conor is in. He doesn’t know how to feel or what to feel and when the monster forces him to put his feelings into words, I think we as readers sort of become Conor since Ness pretty much puts us the same position.

    Like

Leave a Reply

