Girl on the Train

thegirlonthetrain

Oh my gosh. Why did I wait so long to read this book!? I got this book as an advanced reader copy while I worked at a bookstore. The book was published in January 2015, so it has been almost a year and a half since it has been out. I got the book early because I thought it sounded like something my mom would be interested in. That had to be almost two years ago and I just now read it. Well technically I finished it a couple weeks ago. I am so behind on blog posts. Let me tell you….it lives up to the hype.

Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins is told from three alternating perspectives but focuses mainly on Rachel’s point of view. Rachel rides the train to and from London for work 5 days a week. The train slows down at the same spot each time and it gives Rachel the perfect view of people’s backyards. She has a favorite house that she makes up stories about the couple that live there. Until one day she sees something from the train. Then the next day the wife is missing and Rachel gets caught up in the mystery behind her disappearance.

I absolutely loved this book. I had my doubts at first. I am a little weary of books that are super hyped up. I also worry that it won’t live up to my expectations. However, this book did not let me down! While I was not hooked immediately once I got hooked I could not put the book down. I was a little surprised with how much I liked this book. I feel like it snuck up on me. I finished the book and was like “Wow! I really liked this book!”

One thing I am not typically a fan of in books is when the story changes perspective as the book moves along but it worked for this book. I don’t want to give away too many details but I will just say that the changing of perspectives worked well for this story. It added to the suspense of the novel.

The only thing I did not really like about the book was that it took a little while to get into the main plot. I did not feel hooked right away. It was somewhere between 50 pages and 100 pages into the book that I was like this is a good book.

I don’t want to give too much away for the book. I want to leave it as a fresh experience for anyone who wants to read it. I think that this really is a must read.

Rating: 9/10

P.S. This will be a movie staring Emily Blunt later this year so that is a reason to read the book too!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great review thank you. I have not read the book but Emily Blunt is brilliant in this female-driven pyschological thriller – love the spectacular finale of feminine vengeance.

    Like

    1. I loved the movie too. They did a really great job at adapting it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

