Everneath

everneath

Hey guys! It’s been a while. Don’t worry. I haven’t stopped reading just got a little behind on posts. So as I have mentioned in a few posts I attended the YALLWEST about two months ago now. While there I had participated in book yoga and won a stack of 4 books just for participating. Of course 3 out of the 4 books were the second books in series so I had to get the first book. This is how I came upon reading this book.

I was not quite sure what the book was about. Obviously trying to understand a book series from the description of the second book is not a good plan. When I finally got the book in the mail and read what it was about I got excited to read it.

Everneath by Brodi Ashton is told from the perspective of Nikki Beckett. Nikki has just spent the past 6 months in the Everneath, an underworld of sorts, letting Cole feed off of her emotions. However, she has survived the Feeding which means she has the choice to become an Everliving like Cole. An Everliving is immortal as long as they feed off a human every 100 years. Nikki refuses to participate in that and instead chooses to return to the surface for 6 months and then be forced to live in the Tunnels for the rest of eternity. While back on the surface Nikki is determined to make things right with her family and her ex-boyfriend Jack. The story is told in alternating perspectives of Nikki’s return to the surface and the events that lead Nikki to agreeing to go with Cole.

One thing I really liked about this book was that is was a retelling of the myth about Persephone. In my opinion that is one tale that does not get reworked as often as some other stories. I personally am a fan of retellings of famous stories and myths. I think it is interesting to see how the author looked at the original story and created their own world. This was definitely a fresh take on the Persephone story. While she did not stray too far from the original tale she just twisted how we have always looked at the story.

I also really liked the character Cole. His character was very complex and since he is an Everliving he has been alive for a while so he had so much to his character that could have been developed. Unfortunately his character was not as prominent as I wanted in this book. Every scene I kept wanting more of him and it didn’t happen. Since this is a series my fingers are crossed that in the next two books there will be more Cole. Nikki’s character was not entirely likable. I wanted to like her so bad but something just kept me from going over the edge into liking her. Again I am hoping that the rest of the series will make me like her character better. By the end of the book I had started to like her character a little bit more than when I had started.

The book took me a while to get into because I didn’t fully understand what was going on. The description of the book did not explain much and then it just took so long to get all the pieces of what exactly the Everneath was and what Everlivings do but once I had a better idea of it I was able to enjoy the book and I flew through the last half.

I do look forward to finishing the series and seeing where the rest of the books go with the storyline. It was a fun fantasy read.

Rating: 7/10

P.S. I love this cover!

Leave a Reply

