Wink Poppy Midnight

winkpoppymidnight

This was one of those books that had a lot of hype on the Facebook pages I follow before it was actually published. I was instantly intrigued by the title and the cover. Then there was the promise of wondering whether it was magical or not. So when the book came out it took me a while to actually get around to purchasing it but then I did and then it sat on my shelf for a while. However, the power was out a couple days ago so I pulled that book down and sat down and read it in one sitting.

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Geneveive Tucholke follows three characters named Wink, Poppy, and Midnight. In a sense it is about a love triangle between cruel and popular Poppy, strange and lonely Wink, and the quiet, sweet Midnight. While Midnight and Wink start forming a relationship, Poppy grows jealous and it leads to an event that none of them had planned for. Who is to blame and was there magic involved?

One thing I really enjoyed about this book was the writing style. Tucholke wrote in a way that worked so well with the magical realism idea of the book. It had such a nice flow to it and I think that is one of the reasons the book felt so magical. I really liked the mix between reality and magic in this book. It reminded me a lot of the book The Accident Season which was another book I really enjoyed. There was such a mystery surrounding all the characters and the story-line.

The characters felt a little underdeveloped so that I wanted more from them by the end of the book. Also there was some confusion when everything was explained at the end. I think that the point of the book was to keep you a little bit in the dark at the end but I felt too much in the dark.

I don’t want to give anything away for this book so I will keep this review short and sweet. It was a fun a read with a little bit of magic and a little it of mystery twisted in.

Rating: 8/10

 

Leave a Reply

