A Fierce and Subtle Poison

afierceandsubtlepoison

I like to follow different authors on social media sites because it is a great way to stay updated on when my favorite authors will have a new book coming out. It is also a great way to get new reading material. I found out about A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry because one of my favorite authors posted about it on her instagram. The title and cover were intriguing to me so I looked it up and decided I wanted to read it. Boy am I glad I did.

A Fierce and Subtle Poison is about a teenage boy named Lucas who spends the school year in Dallas and then his summers staying at a hotel his dad owns in Puerto Rico. He has spent most of the summers he can remember on the island. Every summer when he was a kid they would tell stories about a house at the end of the street. Now as a teenager it seems as if some of the stories may be true when the girl who lives at the house, Isabel, starts to send Lucas notes. Especially when teenage girls keep disappearing and ending up dead. Lucas gets caught up in the mystery of the house and the mystery of the disappearing girls.

I know you are all probably getting tired of it but as usual I loved the setting of the book. I have never been to Puerto Rico and I am not even sure I have seen a lot of pictures of Puerto Rico but it was painted so well in my head. Mabry did such a great job of combining both the stories of Puerto Rico and it’s history and the actual setting of the island. Together they both helped move the story along. I also really liked the character Isabel and the mystery surrounding her. At first I thought I wanted answers about her but by the end of the book I appreciated the mystery surrounding her. It fit so well with the rest of the story. Mabry had done such a great job about incorporating the stories of Puerto Rico that it worked when Isabel’s story was not laid out entirely. She fit in with the other myths of the island. The writing was so beautiful too. It was done so well that is blended magic and reality perfectly where you weren’t quite sure what was real.

The wrap up at the end was very quick and as I am sure you all know by now that I hate when books have a quick wrap up. Even if they cover everything I still feel like something is missing because it didn’t feel as fleshed out as I would have liked.

Overall though I really enjoyed this book. It was a fun read and took a turn I was not quite expecting!

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

