Wrath of the Dawn

thewrathandthedawn

Wrath of the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh was another book I had read in preparation of YALLWEST. She was also one of the authors that I waited in line for 30 minutes to meet. She was extremely down to earth and nice. She seemed so grateful that I had enjoyed her book. Because she was so cool it made the worth wait it. If you ever have the chance to meet her I say do it.

Wrath and the Dawn is a retelling of a lesser known fairy tale The Arabian Nights. In their country the boy-king, Khalid, takes a bride every night and by sunrise the following morning that bride is dead. The main character, a young girl named Shazi, volunteers to be the next bride. She is the first girl to ever voluntarily marry the king which instantly peaks Khalid’s interest. While Shazi is there for revenge for the death of her best friend she can’t help but become intrigued by Khalid and the mysteries surrounding him. As she saves her life every morning by weaving a tale that hooks Khalid she slowly begins to be drawn into his life and his secrets.

I really liked the setting of this book. The palace, that is both a prison and a home to Shazi, was so beautifully described. Sometimes I felt like I was on my own vacation at points with how well it was described. I really love the retellings of this story. It is not as well-known as some of the other fairy tales but so much can be done with the storyline and I have never read a retelling done the exact same way which is why I love it. I also really loved Shazi’s character. She was so fierce and unafraid to stand up for herself but she was still insecure at times. It made her all the more real that she had insecurities and was not constantly strong. The sub-characters were all interesting as well. Even if they only got a little bit of the spotlight at times they all still stood out and were well-developed. Even the bad guys.

At points in the book there was a lot going on plot-wise. There were a few points where it felt like too much was going on but for the most part she had kept all the sub-plots well done. There are still a lot of unanswered questions at the end of the book. While some of the big questions were answered there were a lot that we not answered that I need to read to the sequel to answer them before I die of curiosity.

This book was so well written. The plot and the characters both just pull you into the story. I highly recommend this book.

Rating: 9/10

reneeahdiehautograph

 

Leave a Reply

