Let’s Get Lost

let'sgetlost

This was one of those books I bought mostly because he cover was pretty. Of course once the cover caught my eye I read the description and decided I would like the book. But let’s be real. Most of the time we buy books we know nothing about beforehand it is because the cover is pretty. You may see that trend in the next couple books. The covers are pretty. I am a sucker for a pretty cover.

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid is a road trip book that skips a lot of the actual road tripping part. It focuses on four different people, Hudson, Bree, Elliot, and Sonia and how Leila, a seventeen year old girl on a road trip to see the Northern Lights, changed their lives. She may have been in their lives for only a day, maybe two, but she left her mark  on them all while trying to find herself.

I liked that this road trip book wasn’t entirely about the road trip. I love road trip books. I am just itching to go on my own road trip. I liked that this book focused more on where Leila stopped and her interactions with the people there rather than her journey herself. While there is a part of the book about Leila’s experiences on the road trip most of the book is about the lives she changed of people who were not on the road trip. It was an interesting perspective and I enjoyed the fresh take on the road trip story.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot, and Sonia were all such great characters. Even though I only got to know them in the brief moments Leila was in their lives I fell in love with all of them. Their stories were all so different but also all so relatable. Most people will be able to relate to at least one of these four characters in someway. Each character was unique. She did not meet the same time of person in four different cities. They were all their own person but they all had their lives changed by a mysterious girl named Leila.

I like Leila’s reasoning behind her road trip. It was not what I had expected it to be and I was glad to have been wrong. The real reason was so perfect and fitting. That is all I will say on that so I don’t give anything away.

I did not really like Hudson’s story as much as I liked his character. His story was the only one that just annoyed me.

**This may be a little spoilerish so read at your own risk.**

Hudson took all the blame  when I think it was also Leila’s fault. If she had cared about him as much as she claimed too then she wouldn’t have let him stay. She would have understood what it meant that he stayed and she wouldn’t have let him stay. But he took all the blame and it bugged me. I think they equally shared the blame.

**spolierish region over**

Another thing I wasn’t a big fan of was the wrap up at the end. I know I have said this about several books but I am not a fan of the perfect happily ever after wrap up (unless it is in a magical fantasy universe). Most real life scenarios do not end up that perfect. I wanted a little bit more of a mess I guess.

Overall though it was a good book. I really enjoyed it once I got past Hudson’s story (which is the first one) and it won me over.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

