Everything, Everything

everythingeverything

As I mentioned in a previous post you will notice a trend of books with pretty covers. This book falls into the category. Two authors that I follow on Instagram had posted about how amazing it was so when I was in the bookstore and saw it I decided to pick it up (it helped it had a pretty cover). I fell in love when I read the description and bought it, reading it the next day.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is about Madeline who has a disease where she is basically allergic to the world. Anything could trigger an allergic reaction so bad she could die. She has spent the past 18 years of her life living in her house with her mother and her nurse Carla. Then one day a new family moves next door and Madeline catches sight of their teenage son Olly. Suddenly her whole world is turned upside down as she realizes there may be things worth going into the world for.

What did I like about this book you ask? Everything. (Ba-dum-tsh).

Okay but joking aside I really did love this book. The way Yoon wrote this book is one of my favorite styles of writing. It is a very informal way of writing but it made the book more personal. It felt like you were reading Madeline’s journal or listening to her tell you the story face to face. It made me feel like I really understood Madeline. I felt closer to her because of how informal the writing is. Which is why I love this writing style. This is the type of book you need to read to really understand why it is so good. You can’t just listen to it.

I absolutely loved Olly and Madeline’s relationship from the start. They were so cute and I just felt my heart flutter every time they were together. I couldn’t help but root for them to be together forever. There was just so many moments between the two of them that made me smile and made me feel better about whatever negative things were happening at the moment in my life.

It was not predictable! Let me tell you. You will probably take this book and think you know how it will end because I did. I picked up this book and told myself this book is going to break my heart. While it did it also mended it and re-broke it and mended it multiple times. But I did not see the ending coming. I was prepared for a certain ending and then BOOM not the ending I was expecting. It made the book even better.

Like I said I loved everything about this book. It was just such an amazing story and if you love young adult fiction books you need to go out and buy this book right now. It is one of my favorite books.

Rating: 11/10

Leave a Reply

