Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

iseveryonehangingoutwithoutme

This book was so hyped up when it first came out. I am very wary about anything that everyone says is absolutely amazing. I have still never seen Avatar because everyone said the movie was so amazing and one of the best movies they have ever seen. Now I feel like if I see it I will just be let down. When this book first came out I was not really into reading nonfiction so it remained off my radar. Of course every time I would be looking for new suggestions for books this one was almost always on a list. So one day in a bookstore I picked it up and read the first page. I ended up finishing the book within the following 24 hours.

I am not sure how many of you are familiar with Mindy Kaling but she is an actress and writer most famously known for The Office and then getting to star in her on show The Mindy Project. This book is just a bunch of stories of her life and how she got to where she is now.

I was already a big fan of Mindy Kaling. I absolutely loved her in The Office and I had no idea she was a writer on the show as well. That made me just like her even more. So obviously I was a little biased to like her already but I do not doubt that she will win you over if you read this book. She is already hilarious as a person so it was great to find out that she was just as funny in writing as she is in her interviews and TV shows. She somehow managed to take topics that may have been disappointing or boring and made them so light and humorous. This book made me like her so much more because she was able to just take her flaws and mock them. She mocked herself and made fun of herself constantly. I was literally laughing out loud at points in the book. There was at least one quote per page that was hilariously amazing.

She was not only funny though, she was also really inspiring. She did not have it easy. She didn’t just randomly show up in LA and get a job and become famous. She went to college and she lived in New York for a while working at different jobs and just trying to make it. Then even when she finally got her job at The Office she was still not instantly famous. The Office had just begun so she was still at the bottom of the totem pole. Even when The Office took off and her name became more well known her life was not easy. She was not good at everything she did. She writes about a time where she was a guest writer at SNL for a couple weeks. During that time she openly admits that she was horrible at writing for SNL. However, she never let her rejections and failures stop her. She used them to learn and adjust. It sounds cheesy saying that but if you read this book you will see what I mean.

There was literally nothing I can think of that I disliked about this book except for the fact that it was too short. Good thing she has a second book! This is a book that I think anyone who feels stuck in their life should read.

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

