Me Before You

mebeforeyou

So I think I have mentioned before that I am in a book club. That was the reason I had read Pride and Prejudice, and Zombies. Well this book club is all about reading books that are going to be movies in 2016. This is how I came to read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I remember seeing it on the bestseller lists for a while but it never really caught my attention. Then (I admit to doing one of the worst crimes an avid book reader can commit) seeing the trailer and becoming intrigued with it. I love both the actors in the movie so I was ready to read the book. And man am I glad I did.

Me Before You follows the story of Louisa, Lou, Clark who had been living a good life up until she lost her job. Now she has to find a new job since her family needs her income to survive. So after several failed attempts she takes one last job with the hopes that it will stick. She ends up as a caretaker for Will Traynor, a once adrenaline junkie, who was hit by a motorcycle and is now a quadriplegic. Will does not take lightly to Lou entering his life and Lou is struggling with the changes that are happening in her life but together the two of them can help each other.

That description may suck but that is the best I can do without giving away the plot line of the book too much. Some of you may have an idea of what happens in the book but for those of you that don’t I want you to experience it on your own like I did. This book took a route that I was not expecting and it worked and I loved it. I definitely went into this book not expecting to like it as much as I did. I am really glad I ended up reading it.

I loved the development of both Lou and Will. When you first meet Lou she is just a simple girl who has always lived at home and worked the same job for most of her life. She has never left her small town except for the short travels to visit family. When you first meet Will he is mean and angry and cold. He had spent most of his life bungee jumping, hiking mountains, and rock climbing to suddenly be confined to a wheelchair and have everything done for him. However, as the two get to know each other you see their characters grow and their personalities change. Lou begins to want more to her life than living at home with her parents. Will begins to open up to Lou and slowly starts to live again. Watching the two of them grow into new people was probably the best part of the book.

While this book sounds like it will break your heart it has so many great aspects to it. There is so much humor and it is also very thought provoking. It makes you think about things that might otherwise make you uncomfortable but it in my opinion these things are real and need to be discussed. Not everyone might agree with the topics presented in this book (and both sides are presented) but I think it is worthwhile to read. It gives you a perspective you may not understand.

I will say carry tissues with you when you take this book if you cry easily at books. I do not typically cry at books. I will cry at a movie but usually when I read a sad book I do not cry. I shed some tears while reading this book. So there is your warning for you easy criers! But don’t let the thoughts of tears and crying keep you reading this book. It will leave you happy and hopeful by the end!

Rating: 10/10

One Comment Add yours

  1. natalyelbaz says:

    Such an emotional read! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

