Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

prideandprejudiceandzombies

So I am going to start this post with some disclaimers.

Disclaimer #1: I have never read Pride and Prejudice.

Disclaimer #2: The first time I ever saw the movie version of Pride and Prejudice was when I was about 20 pages into this book and decided I should probably have a basic idea of the original storyline before reading it with zombies thrown in.

Disclaimer #3: I am not a fan of Jane Austen.

Disclaimer #4: Due to disclaimers 1-3 if you are a huge fan of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice you may not be entirely happy with this post.

So as I said I have never read the original book and I am not a fan of Jane Austen. I have read Persuasion by her in high school and that was it. That being said I read this book because I am in a book club that is doing a book-to-movie theme for this year and this was the next book on the list. I also thought that maybe it would be more interesting to me with the zombies thrown in.

I am assuming most people know the original plotline of Pride and Prejudice but I will briefly summarize the plot of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies for those of you out there who, like me, have never actually read it. It follows the Bennet family which consists of Mr. and Mrs. Bennet and their five daughters. While Mr. Bennet is more concerned with his daughters mastering their fighting art forms, Mrs. Bennet is more worried about seeing her daughters married. There has been a strange plague in England that causes the dead come back to life and the Bennet daughters have all been trained to kill the zombies. While the two oldest daughters, Jane and Elizabeth, are more focused on slaying zombies their little sisters enjoy flirting with the officers in the town. In comes Mr. Darcy who catches Elizabeth’s eye but not in a good way. The rest of the story involves Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth’s strange romance with zombie slaying involved.

One thing I liked about the book was how well the author, Seth Grahame-Green, incorporated the zombies into Jane Austen’s original book. He took Pride and Prejudice word for word and added zombies into the story. He would add a sentence to certain statements to make it about zombies. There would be a few paragraphs he wrote himself that were of the characters fighting off the zombies. In my opinion those were some of the best parts of the book.

As for the characters I don’t really get the obsession over Mr. Darcy. I personally thought he was kind of a dick for the most part of the book. I guess in the end he showed that he wasn’t such a bad guy but I still think he should have had to work harder for Elizabeth’s hand in marriage. Especially because she was such an independent female that I think she deserved more of a fight for her. Of course it was a different time so I guess for that time period he did do pretty well. He is lucky he helped out her younger sister Lydia though because that was about it that convinced me that he deserved a second chance. I still would have liked to see Elizabeth make him work for it.

Overall, the book was not a super easy read. It took me a little longer to get through than usual. I personally think the idea would have been better if Seth Grahame-Green had just rewritten the entire story with the zombie plot line instead of taking the original book and throwing in the paragraph about zombies here and there. I have to say, in my opinion, that I think the movie will be better than the book in this case.

Rating: 7/10 (mostly for the zombie parts)

PS how cool is that movie cover?

Leave a Reply

