The Martian

themartian

This post is almost a month overdue but hey I had a wedding and then final exams to take so I am impressed I even finished the book at all during all of that!

Let me start by saying I was recommended this book by two different people and so I put it off finally purchasing it in September. I had seen lots of good things about it from other people who had read and had seen glimpses of the trailer for the movie (and come on who doesn’t love Matt Damon?!) but I just had other books I was reading at the time. So once I finally bought it and began reading it I could see why everyone loved it. This book took me about a month and a half to read but that was just because my school load was heavy and I was planning my wedding. I would say I probably read it in two big chunks. I read about half of it and then there was about a week or two were I didn’t have time to read at all and then when I did I finished the book.

The Martian by Andy Weir follows the story of Mark Watney who, due to a storm, is suddenly stranded alone on the planet Mars. He is thought to be dead by his crew and everyone back on Earth. The storm also damaged any communication systems he had with NASA. This means he now has to find a way to survive until the next mission or a rescue mission can be sent for him.

Now like I said, it took me a while to read this book after everyone started raving about it. I couldn’t help but wonder what could be so spectacular about a book about a guy alone on Mars. Boy was I in for a surprise! Let me tell you if you are like me and you are uncertain about reading this book all you have to do is walk into your nearest bookstore or library (heck even a grocery store probably has it!), pick up a copy of the book, and read the first page. This is what I did and I walked out of the store with a copy.

The very first page sets the tone for the rest of the book. Andy Weir brings humor into a book that otherwise would honestly be boring without it. He could not have create a more perfect character to be abandoned on a deserted planet than Mark Watney. The way he explains all of the science behind everything was perfect too. I am a science major so I think I am biased to love the science aspects of this book but I honestly believe even if you are not a huge fan of science you will enjoy the way it is portrayed in this book. Each page will have you guessing on whether or not he can make and believe me you will be cheering for him the whole time.

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

