Sharp Objects

sharpobjectsThis is my last book by Gillian Flynn that I had left to read. I had already read Dark Places and Gone Girl so Sharp Objects was the last one I had to read. Don’t worry I will not spoil anything.

In my opinion Sharp Objects is the darkest book that she has written so far (yes even darker than Dark Places ha-ha get it?). It follows Camille Preaker, a writer for a not so well known newspaper in Chicago, who has to go back to her hometown of Wind Gap to cover the murder of two young girls. While there she has to confront the skeletons in her closet which include her mother and her 13 year old sister Amma.

It is always funny reading a book and wondering what kind of person can write things like that then you look on the back cover and see a photo of the author. Let me tell Gillian Flynn does not look like the type of person that could come up with the stuff she writes. If you have read either of her two other books Sharp Objects follows suit with it’s dark and twisted story line. Sharp Objects was the first book she published and even though it was the last one I read it sure did set the pace for the style of writing she would continue to publish.

The way this story twists and turns will keep you on the edge of your seat. Camille does not come off extremely likable in the beginning and I don’t believe her character is supposed to be likable but I do believe that by the end of the book a part of you will be rooting for her. You will want her to figure it out and you will want her to be okay. I do think that a part of the ending was a little predictable. I think some readers may be able to figure it out and guess part of it but I also think that another part of the ending will come as a surprise. That is all I will say on that though. You will have to read it to find out more.

I just wanted to give a little forewarning to the weak of heart, like I said this book is a little darker than most and as the title suggests there is cutting involved. Camille’s character cut herself and comments on it throughout the book so if this is a touchy subject for you I would not recommend this book.

Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

