The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

improbabletheoryofanaandzak

So I actually finished this book almost a week ago so my review is a little delayed but I got super busy and didn’t have time to right the full review. I have decided to start my review with some of my favorite quotes from the book to give everyone an idea of the kind of book you are dealing with.

“Whoa. One does not simply walk into Washingcon” (pg. 78).

“And then, suddenly, I think of the perfect thing to say. I just pray I get the line right. ‘Help me, Obi-Wan. You’re my only hope.'” (pg. 79).

“In a low, guttural, and yet clear voice, he begins to recite the battle ode. The words never fail to stir me, and I barely even speak Orkish.” (pg. 139).

“He smiles back. ‘What really worries me is wearing a red shirt around here.'” (pg. 175).

Now these were just some of m favorites. I could fill the entire review of up with the hilarious references and quotes from The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher. Now if these quotes did not catch your interest this is probably not the book for you. The story follows two completely different people. Ana is the top student in her school and typical over achiever. Her thirteen year old brother, Clayton, and her are the strongest members of their academic team for the school. They need an alternate person on the team and Zak, the standard geek who just does what he can to get by in school, is forced by his teacher to join the team in order to not fail is health class. By going to the competition Zak has to miss his favorite convention of the year Washingcon. He ends up telling Clayton how amazing it is which leads to Clayton sneaking off the night before the final round of the competition to go to Washingcon. Zak and Ana team up to track him down throughout the night while learning that maybe they aren’t so different from each other at the same time.

This book had me cracking up the entire time. There were so many geeky references throughout the book. There is a Star Wars themed wedding that takes place at the convention, a song made entirely from Star Trek catch phrases, and a battle straight from a Lord of the Rings movie! Those are just a few of the crazy events that take place. There are plenty more surprises in this book that make it feel like whirlwind of a read. I don’t think there was really a time to pause and think about it until the very end of the book. However, Katcher makes it work so well that you don’t feel overwhelmed. This was such a fun read and I highly recommend you get out to your local bookstore and purchase it today!

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

